Latest Updates


Spanish tennis super star Raphael Nadal has for the eleventh time claimed the Clay Court championship in Roland Garos beating Dominic Thiem 6-4, 6-3, 6-2.

The record setting Spanish broke Thiem’s first service taking a two game-lead before Thiem struck back to even the service. Nadal however ascended and passed further a three break points and went ahead to claim the decisive break lead in the game.

The 16-time Grand Slam winner who broke his Austrian opponent in the second game and held out to another 1000 ATP title at a point in the third felt some discomfort (cramp) in his middle finger.

Having his trainer intervention was all the Madrid born needed to handle the cramp and went ahead managing in his sixth game to emerge as 17-time Grand Slam winner becoming the second player after Margaret Court (1960-1973) to win the French Open 11 times.

The result means that the last six Grand Slam have been won by Swiss Roger Federer and Raphael Nadal.

Nadal after the game:

“It’s a dream to win 11 times,” Nadal said.

“It was important to play the way I did. It was a tough moment when I got cramp. He is a player who pushes you to the limit.”

Raphael Nadal remains world number one tennis player consolidating with this win.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: