Latest Updates

​Ballon d’Or Announces New Awards For Young Talent And Women

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will form part of a panel that will vote on a new award added to the Ballon d’Or family this year: the Kopa Trophy.

Named after Raymond Kopa, the legendary Reims, Angers, Real Madrid and France striker, who won the inaugural Ballon d’Or in 1958, the award will go to the game’s outstanding young player aged under 21.

Ronaldo and Messi, though, will not be alone on a panel of illustrious talents. Joining the pair will be all the surviving Ballon d’Or winners, from Luis Suarez, the oldest winner still alive, to the Juventus and Barcelona stars, who have monopolised the individual award for a decade.

Furthermore, there will be a Ballon d’Or equivalent for female players.

This prize has been welcomed by France international Wendy Renard, who plays for Lyon and is a Champions League winner.

About MikeThePundit (745 Articles)
MikeThePundit officially Michael Imianvan is a SPORT BROADCAST JOURNALIST.... Host/Anchor of Sport Shows on TV/Radio. Biased for all things sport. #PhoneticsFreak

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: